(sub)urban soundcheck.

The Twilight Sad – Forget the Night Ahead [2009 – Fat Cat]
August 29, 2009, 4:09 pm
Filed under: indie, rock, shoegaze | Tags:


1. Reflection of the Television
2. I Became a Prostitute
3. Seven Years of Letters
4. Made to Disappear
5. Scissors
6. That Room
7. That Birthday Present
8. Floorboards Under the Bed
9. Interrupted
10. The Neighbours Can’t Breathe
11. At the Burnside

“Basically it’s about after coming off tour and things like that, getting back into normal life. I don’t know how normal it is, but I’ll say it anyway. Things happened to me. Lots of people close to me went about crazy, and I don’t know how it affected the people around me and everybody else. There were some stories in there. It’s a collection of those kind of themes. And it’s basically about trying to forget what happened…We definitely used some more instruments. We used some violin, which was played by Laura McFarlane from My Latest Novel. We used more piano on the record, and we tried some different guitar strings, and there’s some fire extinguishers in there as well…There’s more instruments on it, but it’s definitely still got the big guitar sound on it. To me, it’s definitely rougher around the edges than the first one. It’s not a flat, technically polished album. It’s very rough but melodic at the same time. We didn’t want to make an album that sounded too produced. This album is more raw than the first one, but again it’s still developed. It’s hard to put it into words. It’s not as produced, but there’s more to it.” – Vocalist James Graham, via Pitchfork.com interview

Rx Bandits – Mandala [2009 – Sergeant House]
June 28, 2009, 4:06 pm
Filed under: progressive, rock | Tags:

RxBandits - Mandala

1. My Lonesome Only Friend – 4:03
2. It’s Only Another Parsec… – 4:44
3. Hope Is a Butterfly, No Net Its Captor, She Beats Her Wings and Softly Sings of Summer Scent and Children’s Laughter (Virus of Silence) – 4:23
4. Hearts That Hanker for Mistake – 4:31
5. Mientras La Veo Sonar – 6:36
6. March of the Caterpillar – 4:12
7. White Lies – 4:30
8. Bury it Down Low – 3:33
9. Breakfast Cat – 5:16
10. Bled to Be Free (The Operation) – 4:37
11. Bring Our Children Home or Everything is Nothing – 6:19

The latest from the greatest. If you download and enjoy this, pre-order the album

The Mercury Program – A Data Learn the Language [2002 – Tiger Style]
June 28, 2009, 3:36 pm
Filed under: post-rock | Tags:


1. Tequesta – 7:38
2. Fragile or Possibly Extinct – 7:19
3. Slightly Drifting – 6:24
4. Egypt – 4:52
5. To/From Iceland – 5:41
6. You Yourself Are Too Serious – 5:23
7. Gently Turned on Your Head – 4:03
8. Sultans of el Sur – 5:46

“The third album by Florida-based quartet Mercury Program is a small departure, eliminating vocals entirely and adding electronics for the first time to what had previously been a richly acoustic, almost jazzy sound. The band is still centered around Whitney Travisano’s electric piano and vibraphone (guitarist Tom Reno and drummer Dave LeBleu also add vibes to several songs), which gives A Data Learn the Language a cool, mellow feel, like the Sea and Cake reinterpreting their favorite Modern Jazz Quartet sides. The electronics and loops are introduced sparingly, supporting the eight lengthy songs and adding new and interesting textures, but never becoming the center of musical attention…it’s consistently melodic, rhythmically varied, and unfailingly listenable.” – allmusic

Shuta Hasunuma – Pop Ooga Plus [2009 – Western Vinyl]
June 28, 2009, 2:46 pm
Filed under: glitch, pop | Tags:


1. United Tee – 1:17
2. Soul Osci – 5:31
3. Vol Struggle – 1:41
4. Field Trip – 4:31
5. Triooo – 4:49
6. Power Osci – 4:13
7. The Play – 3:38
8. The Play Pt. 2 – 2:52
9. New Attitude – 5:42
10. 2 Become 1 – 2:59
11. Barr Barr – 4:28
12. Flying Love – 9:34

“This stands as something of a counter to several of Hasunuma’s contemporaries, who favor jagged cut-offs and aborted melodies and thus set up glitch as a genre of antithesis. Pop Ooga Plus, however willing to playfully misdirect a listener with detours, is nurturing melodies by testing them and watching them grow. Hasunuma seems to understand that glitch doesn’t necessarily have to be about blasting listener expectations about the traditional. It can also be about revamping traditionalism to better fit the fractured, polytonal, heteroglossic music listener to whom this music has naturally gravitated. Melodies are turned fractal, interpreted, and tiered…Refreshing, too, to hear Pop Ooga Plus‘ plea to instate glitch as a cornerstone of pop in the 2000s as opposed to Herren’s extreme self-surgery. Herren’s exiled himself; it may end up an artist with Hasunuma’s sort of potential for cross-demographic appeal who decides if glitch remains concretized or if it’s plotted for new spaces.” – Conrad Amenta

Mum – Sing Along to Songs You Don’t Know [2009 – Morr Music]
June 27, 2009, 7:43 pm
Filed under: folk, indie | Tags:


1. If I Were A Fish – 4:16
2. Sing Along – 5:40
3. Prophecies & Reversed Memories – 4:06
4. A River Don’t Stop to Breath – 4:45
5. The Smell of Today is Sweet Like Breastmilk in the Wind – 4:45
6. Show Me – 3:48
7. Hullaballabalu – 3:28
8. Blow Your Nose – 4:08
9. Kay-Ray-Ku-Ku-Ko-Kex – 3:58
10. Last Shapes of Never – 2:28
11. Illuminated – 4:09
12. Ladies of the New Century – 3:48

“Two years after the release of their last album, eccentric pop maestros múm return with their fifth album proper, simply named Sing Along To Songs You Don’t Know. A flickering candle of an album, the album is more laid back than múm’s recent outings, this time much of the songs revolve around a lightly prepared piano, hammered dulcimer, a string quartet, marimbas, guitars, ukuleles and in the background of a few of the songs one can hear Örvar’s parent’s parakeet singing with the piano. The album was recorded in countless different places in four different countries, although most of it was done in múm’s native Iceland.” – Morr

Caspian – You Are the Conductor [2005 – Mylene Sheath)
June 27, 2009, 6:48 pm
Filed under: post-rock | Tags:


1. Quovis – 1:17
2. Further Up – 4:27
3. Further In – 2:50
4. Loft – 6:15
5. For Protection – 3:37
6. Last Rites – 9:27

“The melding of bombast and beauty, this is what Caspian does best. On their first release You are the Conductor, and perhaps the best instrumental EP of 2005, Caspian maintains a firm melodic foundation while not forgetting to bring the rock. In the first three songs; Quovis”, “Further Up” and “Further In”, Caspian establish their post-rock prowess by fusing layered overdriven guitars, an air tight rhythm section, and an almost innate ability to create gorgeous melodies.” – Delusions Of Adequacy

Caspian – The Four Trees [2007 – Dopamine]
June 27, 2009, 6:29 pm
Filed under: post-rock | Tags:

1. Moksha – 9:08
2. Some Are White Light – 5:26
3. Sea Lawn – 5:23
4. Crawlspace – 7:38
5. Book Nine – 5:54
6. The Dropsonde – 2:05
7. Brombie – 5:58
8. Our Breaths in Winter – 3:23
9. The Dove – 3:05
10. ASA – 7:17
11. Reprise – 5:14

“The Four Trees, the first full-length album from the Massachusetts-based group, combines nearly every sound from post-rock into one album that flows coherently and logically. From ambient, textural drones to hard hitting riffs a la Pelican, The Four Trees breezes from style to style effortlessly…they show a mastery of the sound their idols laid out before them, making a listenable, cohesive album in the midst of multiple epics. Unlike their contemporaries, Caspian’s music is not particularly moody. One can listen to it at almost any time.” – Tyler Fisher