(sub)urban soundcheck.

The Twilight Sad – Forget the Night Ahead [2009 – Fat Cat]
August 29, 2009, 4:09 pm
Filed under: indie, rock, shoegaze | Tags:


1. Reflection of the Television
2. I Became a Prostitute
3. Seven Years of Letters
4. Made to Disappear
5. Scissors
6. That Room
7. That Birthday Present
8. Floorboards Under the Bed
9. Interrupted
10. The Neighbours Can’t Breathe
11. At the Burnside

“Basically it’s about after coming off tour and things like that, getting back into normal life. I don’t know how normal it is, but I’ll say it anyway. Things happened to me. Lots of people close to me went about crazy, and I don’t know how it affected the people around me and everybody else. There were some stories in there. It’s a collection of those kind of themes. And it’s basically about trying to forget what happened…We definitely used some more instruments. We used some violin, which was played by Laura McFarlane from My Latest Novel. We used more piano on the record, and we tried some different guitar strings, and there’s some fire extinguishers in there as well…There’s more instruments on it, but it’s definitely still got the big guitar sound on it. To me, it’s definitely rougher around the edges than the first one. It’s not a flat, technically polished album. It’s very rough but melodic at the same time. We didn’t want to make an album that sounded too produced. This album is more raw than the first one, but again it’s still developed. It’s hard to put it into words. It’s not as produced, but there’s more to it.” – Vocalist James Graham, via Pitchfork.com interview